Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Honda

Old 11-27-2009, 07:11 PM   #1
Timrek
Registered Member

Default Difference between K and F models

Hi there,

I am new to the form and new to motorcycles. I just bought my first bike today. I picked up a 1976 Honda CB 750. It is a non runner at this time but I am looking forward to getting it running and fixed up over the next few months.

My first of many questions to come, is. How do I tell if I have a K model or an F model? I want to get a good repair manual for it as I have the feeling it is going to come in handy and I want to get the right one. If you have any recommendations for what repair manual to get that would be great too.
Timrek is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 11-27-2009, 08:52 PM   #2
jmdonald
Founding Member

Default I think yours is a K

Motorcycle Specifications You may try this website. The specs you are looking for may be there
Old 11-27-2009, 08:55 PM   #3
seruzawa
The Toad

K models had 4 into 4 exhausts. F models had a 4 into one. The F also had a rear disc brake while the K had a drum. The F had a plastic tail section behind the seat while the K did not.

There are some internal differences too. Valves, gear ratios, etc.
Old 11-29-2009, 12:43 PM   #4
Timrek
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by seruzawa View Post
K models had 4 into 4 exhausts. F models had a 4 into one. The F also had a rear disc brake while the K had a drum. The F had a plastic tail section behind the seat while the K did not.

There are some internal differences too. Valves, gear ratios, etc.
Ok, well I have a 4 into one exhaust, and a plastic rear fender and a rear mechanical drum with dual front calipers.

Is there a site out there any place that I can put the serial number in and find out what I have?

The manufacture date is 1/1975 and it is a production year model of 1976.