Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle News > Old News > Help!

Old 10-27-2005, 02:50 PM   #1
longride
Super Duper Mod Man

Default Re: Winter Motorbiking in Snow

I have some experience riding in the snow in Chicago traffic, and it's something I never want to do again. I would recommend getting a good health insurance policy.

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 10-27-2005, 02:59 PM   #2
johnnyb
Founding Member

there was a mpeg on internet a few years ago, some guy in some scandinavian country i think with studded tires on like a ZX-10 hauling bootay on a frozen lake someplace. Axe him.
johnnyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 03:01 PM   #3
2cndeh
Founding Member

I used a dual-purpose XL-250 with enduro tires with sheet metal screws in each knob. Worked well, but was totally illegal. You might be able to stud a knobby or enduro tire. I think a street bike would not work nearly as well - wrong tires, and I needed flat track style cornering, which would be harder on a pure streetbike.
2cndeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 05:59 PM   #4
SuperBill
Founding Member

Try the 360 as-is with good street tires. It doesn't take long to get the hang of riding in snow or slush - practice on no-traffic back roads until you get the hang of it. Wear good protective gear and explore the limits of the bike with the usual avoidance maneuvers. You'll crash a coupla' times, but it will be at reasonably slow speeds and sliding on snow doesn't hurt you or the bike that much. And your 30-year-old bike limits the downside on your wallet.