Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle News > Old News > Help!

Old 04-16-2003, 02:12 PM   #1
crazybike_37
Founding Member

Default Re: Ducati Monster 620 or Suzuki SV 650 S?

Well, I'm an expert on at least half of your question. I own a 2001 SVS, and of course, I think its the greatest bike in the world for 6 grand (actually got mine for 4 grand. If you're looking for the best reliability and ease of maintainence, buy an SV. A monster is going to need frequent and expensive valve adjustments, is less powerful and its air cooled. The monster is also a little more expensive, but it will likely hold its resale value better than an SV, for no other reason than exclusivity compared to the very popular SV. Popularity is another thing you might want to consider, as there is a huge aftermarket and tons of tech.-advice support out there. Check out www.svrider.com to see the tip of the iceberg.

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 04-16-2003, 02:12 PM   #2
rsheidler
Founding Member

Having been the proud owner of a Ducati 900SS for the past 7 years, and being a big fan of the Monsters, I would be tempted to suggest the 620 Monster. However, in several ways, the SV650 has advantages. Note that I have not actually ridden the smallest Monster, and the only SV650 I have ridden has upgraded suspension (Fox shock and Gold Valve -- or maybe it was Traxxion Dynamics -- fork rework).

I expect that the SV would run away from the little Monster in acceleration, although either should have enough to keep you entertained cutting through traffic or on a twisty rural backroad.

At least based on my own experience and that of my friends, both are pretty reliable, although parts and service will be more expensive for the Ducati. Unless you learn to do them yourself, those desmo valves will cost a bunch to have adjusted at the dealer.