Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Harley Davidson

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2008, 08:19 PM   #21
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member
 
Kenneth_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VIsiting the GIft Shop in the Pit of DIspair
Posts: 7,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzglyd View Post
Well Ken you gotta understand. Dear Jen let it slip that our beloved longride takes service manuals to bed in the evening.
Does she have a sister? Talk about a dream girl... "Honey, I think the throttle body sync on the VStrom is out of spec, could you have a look at it after you finish the laundry? I left the manometer by your purse."
__________________
www.kennethmoore.org
Kenneth_Moore is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-14-2008, 08:34 PM   #22
sfcdjevans
Registered Member
 
sfcdjevans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 43.47N-76.48W
Posts: 956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by longride View Post
Guilty as charged! I'm a motorcycle nut. I'm either riding, working on em, or reading about em. I hope to be a GMP some day.
That post caused a chuckle.
__________________
3425 miles from Reading, UK
Why their heads on a pike of course. If I thought it would do any good.
sfcdjevans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 08:33 PM   #23
kinghd78
Registered Member
 
kinghd78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
Talking I forgot to tell you guys

Sorry it's been so long for the answer as to what my problem was but it's been a rough year. Anyway, I found my oil leak. Here, the ******* that rebuilt my engine put a T on the breather hose right behind the pressure sending unit where I couldn't see it and it was wide open. I was about to take the pump off and put new gaskets on it when I found it. I just capped it off and no more leak. Really pissed me off. Why the hell would he put a T there? Anyway, it's fixed.
kinghd78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 06:56 AM   #24
longride
Super Duper Mod Man

 
longride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Anywhere they let me
Posts: 10,479
Default

Good news man. Sometimes the simple stuff gets ya.
__________________
I'm a knucklehead
longride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 04:31 PM   #25
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kinghd78 View Post
Sorry it's been so long for the answer as to what my problem was but it's been a rough year. Anyway, I found my oil leak. Here, the ******* that rebuilt my engine put a T on the breather hose right behind the pressure sending unit where I couldn't see it and it was wide open. I was about to take the pump off and put new gaskets on it when I found it. I just capped it off and no more leak. Really pissed me off. Why the hell would he put a T there? Anyway, it's fixed.
That's why I do all my own work.
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 09:36 PM   #26
sarnali2
Aging Cafe` Racer

 
sarnali2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sittin' down by my window, lookin' at the rain.
Posts: 8,719
Default

Stock Shovelhead oil lines are a rat nest anyway. are you missing a primary case breather? that's probably what the T was for.

LR if you're running a primary chain in tin primarys the Knuck is supposed to leak, otherwise you'll smoke the chain in a few K miles
__________________
"Carpe` Throttelum -Loud Suits Save Lives"

"He said he's farting because of his medication"...
sarnali2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 05:41 AM   #27
longride
Super Duper Mod Man

 
longride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Anywhere they let me
Posts: 10,479
Default

I'm running a belt primary. The Knuck still leaked out or every orafice that had oil, and even leaked for areas that didn't have oil. That wil be solved soon!
__________________
I'm a knucklehead
longride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:17 AM   #28
sarnali2
Aging Cafe` Racer

 
sarnali2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sittin' down by my window, lookin' at the rain.
Posts: 8,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by longride View Post
I'm running a belt primary. The Knuck still leaked out or every orafice that had oil, and even leaked for areas that didn't have oil. That wil be solved soon!

Gasket Cinch is your friend!
__________________
"Carpe` Throttelum -Loud Suits Save Lives"

"He said he's farting because of his medication"...
sarnali2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:31 AM   #29
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member
 
Kenneth_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VIsiting the GIft Shop in the Pit of DIspair
Posts: 7,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kinghd78 View Post
Sorry it's been so long for the answer as to what my problem was but it's been a rough year. Anyway, I found my oil leak. Here, the ******* that rebuilt my engine put a T on the breather hose right behind the pressure sending unit where I couldn't see it and it was wide open. I was about to take the pump off and put new gaskets on it when I found it. I just capped it off and no more leak. Really pissed me off. Why the hell would he put a T there? Anyway, it's fixed.
Hold on here...my Shovel had a breather hose that relieved pressure in the crankcase. It had to flow air freely, and there was usually a small amount of oil along with it. Evos routed the crankcase air back up to the heads, which is cleaner but less efficient. The best solution for me was a $20 chrome gizmo with a fine metal screen that attached to the end of the hose and tie-wrapped under the frame or you could get a fancy chrome mount that put it on the passenger peg and oiled the exhaust pipes.

Same thing or a different "breather hose?"
__________________
www.kennethmoore.org
Kenneth_Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 05:21 PM   #30
kinghd78
Registered Member
 
kinghd78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10
Default

I still have a breather hose that runs free. It's routed to the other side of the bike and oils the chain while it breaths.
kinghd78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off