Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Harley Davidson

Old 07-29-2012, 02:34 PM   #1
Lakota
Premium Member

Smile Introduction

Hey guys,

I'm a new guy on this forum, and i thought I would introduce myself.

I'm logged in as Lakota, but my first name is John. I've been riding various brands on and off for 35 years. Right now, I'm riding an old but good Honda Shadow (2003), and my wife is riding an equally old Yamaha Virago (1993) that she's owned for 15 years.

In between we've owned Harleys--the last of which were a couple of Sportsters. I had a '96 1200 conversion, and Ann rode an 84 1/2 modified ironhead.

I'm retired now, and we've just moved 10 miles away from a pretty decent midwestern Harley dealer (or so I've been told). So you know what I'm thinking . . . I'd like a cruiser; it's past time.

Which brings me to why I'm on this forum; I know the old FXRs were great bikes; now I'm looking at Dynas, Fatboys, Softails, and thinking, thinking, thinking. I've got to get myself on these babies and see which one chooses me as its rider.

So I'm here to learn from the community. It's been a while since I focused on the Motor Company; what say you guys about your experiences?

I would love to hear from all of you.

-john
Lakota is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-30-2012, 06:42 AM   #2
The Spaceman
Registered Member

The FXR was known for it's great chassis and handling (compared to other HDs, of course). If that's what interests you, the XR1200 is HD's current best-handling bike. The FX series is now known as the "Dyna" line; which are non-unit, standard swingarm and shock "Big Twins." You can find reviews on almost all of HD's lineup right here on Motorcycle.com.
Old 07-30-2012, 03:22 PM   #3
Lakota
Premium Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Spaceman View Post