Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle News > Old News > Ducati News

Old 02-04-2002, 09:21 AM   #1
TheFox
Founding Member

Default Re: Ducati announces 989 cc V-Four MotoGP bike

First post!

Is this thing really going to make 220 horse at the crank, or is Ducati being optimistic, or is this just a typo?

I was hoping for something exotic, something totally insane, like an 8 cylinder. I'm not suprised they stayed desmodromic though. So my question is this: how will the firing order assist in maintaining traction? Any engineers out there than can help me out?

--The Fox

The best bike to take a trip on is the one you have.
TheFox is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 02-04-2002, 09:36 AM   #2
xIrvx
Founding Member

Default pulsating and throbbing

I'm not an engineer, I would rather do than think! lol

There is a difference between static friction and sliding friction. Remember when you were a kid and wanted to sled down the hill? The sleigh wouldn't go unless you gave it a push. The idea of big bang is similiar: the rear tire breaks loose as it is subjected to thrust when the piston is on the power stroke. The tire then re-grips (static friction) while the piston goes through exhaust/intake/compression. The cycle of static grip-breaking loose-sliding grip has higher average traction than constant sliding grip. There was an excellent article written by Cycle magazine back in the 70s about tire traction mechanisms.
xIrvx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 09:39 AM   #3
Joe_Momma
Founding Member

Default Re: Ducati announces 989 cc V-Four MotoGP bike