Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Buell (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/buell/)
-   -   Buell Blast (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/buell/6384-buell-blast.html)

texanchik83 09-16-2007 03:08 PM

Buell Blast

I'm a novice female rider, and am looking into getting a Buell Blast as my first bike. I've researched them, gone to several dealerships, sat on them, ridden on the back of them, etc....everything feels great about it. I want to know if any of you more experienced riders out there think this is a good decision and if you've had any good/bad experiences with them. I want/need something that I feel safe on, that I can handle and manuever with ease, and that will be reliable. Thanks for the advice!

Kenneth_Moore 09-16-2007 04:14 PM

The Blast is a favorite for the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's Rider Training Class, so that says a lot about their suitability for the beginning rider. They are light, have a reasonably low seat height, and Buell has solid build quality.

Two downsides, but certainly not deal breakers: the demand for used Blasts isn't great, and you may find yourself outgrowing it quickly. They are pretty underpowered for much more than putting around town. Think of it as a big scooter. If you like the looks and your feet touch the ground when seated on it, then go for it!

Good luck, and welcome!

texanchik83 09-16-2007 04:24 PM

Thanks for your input. I'm not looking for a lot of speed or power in my first bike. I want to make sure I'm comfortable before that ever becomes an issue.

Kenneth_Moore 09-16-2007 04:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by texanchik83 (Post 169271)
Thanks for your input. I'm not looking for a lot of speed or power in my first bike. I want to make sure I'm comfortable before that ever becomes an issue.

Good plan. A lot of times the reality of motorcycling doesn't match the expectations, and expensive bikes wind up sitting in garages or being sold for a pretty big loss.