Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   BMW News (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/bmw-news/)
-   -   Garmin GPS (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/bmw-news/3678-garmin-gps.html)

theirishscion 06-19-2006 06:43 AM

Re: Garmin GPS

Well, I've been using the original Garmin Quest for about 9 months now. Found it online for

Two nice things about the Quest, it is water resistant (certainly sufficient for motorcycle use) and it has rather a good lithium battery built in so plumbing into the bike electrics can be considered optional (battery life between 4 and 16-ish hours, depending on backlight usage.)

Bad things are, in the case of the original Quest, map memory limited to about 115 Megs and no card slot to expand it. It also uses the older, less memory efficient maps, so that 115 Megs doesn't go as far as it does in the newer machines. On the plus side though, the maps that come with the unit are nice and granular so you can be very selective in what you add for any given trip (unlike the newer units/maps, which tend to cover huge chunks of a state, if not the whole thing, in a single map segment). For context, I can fit all of Texas and bits of a couple surrounding states into the memory at once. My g/f's Garmin i3 can fit Texas and all the sourrounding states into 128 megs.